3 09.05.17
10 08.05.17
Page 1 / 287 Next Page Last Page

Is Consulting Right For Me? Request For Advice

#1 Is Consulting Right For Me? Request For Advice
01/01/2017 18:24

Akynos

Hello,

I am a final year student in Management and have the possibility/interest in going into a Msc Management Consultancy postgraduate year after graduating.

I have read up on several articles and websites describing consultancy and its pros and cons, but I remain doubtful as to whether this is something that would be right for me, and if not, what kind of career would be. It is with such questions that I kindly come here to ask for your advice. I will proceed to describe (as much as I can) what I like and dislike in the hope that you can enlighten me :)

I have had little practical experience besides 6 months as an intern portfolio analyst, where my task was to analyse and consolidate data within databases - eventually to make a presentation to my boss about which products are performing well, which ones aren't, and make suggestions as to how to restructure the portfolios.

This job wasn't exactly exciting to me. I disliked going into the same office at the same hour every day, doing somewhat similar tasks.

However, I liked the fact that I was fully responsible for my project, with the support of my colleagues. It felt like it was my own creation, and I had the freedom to do it the way I saw fit. One thing I particularly enjoyed was to create a macro to ease the data collecting process. It felt like a challenge, a problem that no one tried to tackle before me. I spent the whole day without pausing doing it, which is rare for me.

I also enjoyed the fact that I was somewhat competent with Excel and was happy to help out my colleagues. It gave me a sense of expertise and importance.